What is the full form of EAC?

EAC stands for East African Community.

Short Form EAC
Full Form East African Community
Category Associations & Organizations » International Orgaizations
Country Worldwide
Type Initialism

What is EAC?

East African Community is an intergovernmental organization of 11 countries in East Africa. The purpose of the organization is to promote peace, security, development, and human rights in the region.

The EAC was founded in 2000 as a response to the challenges posed by globalization and the increasing international tensions. The EAC is made up of member countries: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Seychelles.

The EAC operates through a number of committees that deal with different issues. These committees include the Joint Parliamentary Assembly (JPA), the Economic and Social Council (ESC), and the Commission for Human Rights (CHR).

The JPA is responsible for co-ordinating parliamentary activities between member states. The ESC provides technical assistance to member states in areas such as agriculture, industry, tourism, education, and health. The CHR deals with human rights violations in member countries.

Overall, the EAC is an important organization that promotes peace and security in East Africa. It has various committees that deal with different issues.